How to post, how to add pics, how to add an attachment, and how to share a YouTube video...

Author Topic: I dont fit!  (Read 9919 times)

Offline scottiniowa

• Scott-In-Iowa
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 69.0.3497.100 Chrome 69.0.3497.100
    • Display of helpful hits and tricks
  • Eagle Type: Legal E- XL
Re: I dont fit!
« Reply #15 on: October 11, 2018, 08:55:22 AM »
(appears different that other plan built frames
That is a possibility.  If im not mistaken, this may have been a previous builder modification (he was a little bit shorter than me)
Ok, until I hear and others hear differently, we can assume your frame, which seems to be too close to your neck and head,(reason for your original post and title)  can be considered to be the "same but different" from the plans, maybe... or something like that, sorta.

As a builder, I would sure like to know, if my rear spar attach point was going to connect to the cluster center  as intended.  

In general, small aircraft have a fairly safe fudge factors,  i.e., a station can be ahead or back .125" and things be ok, but never are they (the fudging) intended to be compounding.
I am not saying this has happened, but am saying it has happened for some, where a miscalculation was repeated over and over and thus took the builder into never-never land. 
This is one of the reasons that exact drawings for CAD and the like, have a POINT of  0/0.    Where every part dimension, is either X" back, above or besides this 0/0 mark.  other wise known as X/Y/Z dimensions. Saves a lot of grief down the road. 

These dimensions can drawn into almost any set of plans.  (C station) equals- A to B + B to C     D station equals A to C + C to D as opposed to  C is so many inches from B, and D is so many from D   as you can see, if an error was made anywhere along the line, it just would get carried to the next,  --- then two errors and so on.