How to post, how to add pics, how to add an attachment, and how to share a YouTube video...

Author Topic: DE Horizontal Stabilizer Incidence Angle vs. W&B & Stability Considerations  (Read 658 times)

Offline MikeHuffman

• Windows NT 10.0 Windows NT 10.0
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 123.0.0.0 Chrome 123.0.0.0
  • Eagle Type: Double Eagle
About a year ago, I acquired a partially-built DE project and am working to complete it.  In the process, I've developed some questions, each of which I will post separately.  Here's the first one: what DE horizontal stabilizer incidence angle relative to the fuselage has been found to work well?  The plans don’t say, so I’m looking for input from those who have built and flown DE’s.

First, a little of my background.  I'm an engineer and since the late 1960s, I have built, designed & built, or restored more than 20 different airplanes and have had some experience with formal flight testing. Additionally, for the last 18 years I’ve been an FAA DAR certifying EABs, SLSAs, and ELSAs and conducting FAA-accepted ELSA Repairman courses. In short, I don’t want to present myself as an expert, but I do have a fairly deep knowledge of the subject.

Discussions of stabilizer incidence angle are intimately tied up with weight & balance considerations.  I’ve read all the weight and balance information on this site and found some of it to be very good and very useful, but some to be misguided.  So, I want to present a discussion of how stabilizer incidence angle, weight & balance, aircraft control, and aircraft stability are intertwined. So, here goes my long-winded post:

AIRCRAFT STABILITY
To have good longitudinal stability, the aircraft’s loaded center of gravity (CG) location must be forward of the wing center of pressure (CP) location at all angles of attack up to stall.  That produces a nose-down effect that must be balanced by a downward force on the tail.  (It is not intuitively obvious why that should be the case, but it is true).